Jurusik to Continue Playing in Wisconsin; Commits to University of Wisconsin

Jul 14, 2015

The Janesville Jets are proud to announce the signing of goaltender Matt Jurusik to the University of Wisconsin (Big 10) for the upcoming 2015-16 season.

Jurusik, who completed his first season with the Jets last year, is the 13th player to make a college commitment from the record breaking Jets.

Jurusik lead the North American Hockey League in multiple goaltending categories including goal against average (1.57), shut outs (7), save percentage (.939), and wins (33). Jurusik was also named as the goaltender for the NAHL All-Rookie team for the 2014-15 season.  

Jurusik’s signing to the University of Wisconsin comes during a rebuilding year for the program where he looks to add to the process.

“I’m going to bring a competitive attitude,” said Jurusik. “I’m a really competitive person and I love to win. We did a lot of winning last year and I’m looking to carry over the success we had last year and bring that to the table.”

Jurusik looks to use his knowledge gained in Janesville to continue his career.

“We had a couple roadblocks at the beginning of the season starting out .500. I think battling through adversity is the toughest part of the game that I went through in Janesville,” said Jurusik. “I think that will really help me next season.”

Coach Joe Dibble, who enters his fourth season behind the bench, is ready to see another Janesville player hit the ice in Madison. “We are very proud and excited for Matt to get the opportunity to play for the University of Wisconsin,” said Coach Dibble. “From the day he arrived in Janesville he was determined and hungry but never wanted anything given to him. He has work ethic that is contagious, he expects to win every night, he just flat out refuses to lose and he will implemented that attitude into our culture every day in Janesville. He’s a winner and we are very excited to watch Matt’s career at Wisconsin and beyond.”

Jurusik joins Grant Frederic (Miami), David Radke (Colorado College), Zach LaValle (Miami), Evan Feno (Air Force), Ian Janco (Bemidji State), Grant Hutton (Miami), Nicolas Erb-Ekholm (Alaska-Anchorage), Kyle Patava (Air Force), Mitch Fossier (Maine), Drew Callin (Bentley), Zach Yoder (Air Force) and Danny Kucerovy (Bentley) in committing to play Division-I hockey.